Day #29 With a Little Help From My Friends

Oh, hey, there! I’m back! You thought I had given up on this didn’t  you? Wrong…I just got busy again as I regained mobility with my foot, and also, to be honest, after a string of really emotional posts, I needed a bit of a break. Anyway, I am back, and I am here to finish out the SW30 which has become more like the SW50, but whatever. It’s my blog, so I can take as long as I want. Moving on.

Day #29 Who is your closest or most special friend that you’ve never met, and what do they mean to you? How did you cross paths? Talk about how you “met” them: Facebook, Twitter, online support group, etc

This might sound very un-2013 to say, but I don’t one have single special friend from the online world that I have never met. I am a super small town girl, and as much as I love the internet, I love real live friends that I can hug and squeeze or take a picture with or at the very least, hear their voice and be comforted by the familiarity of it. I don’t see anything at all wrong with people having cyber friendships, but I just don’t have one. Bummer. So, now what do I write about? Ahhh, I think I know.

This blog started off as a challenge to myself. Steph and Mary Grace were the first two people I sent the link to. Then, I got brave and added a few more friends in to the mix…then my “other dad”…my mom…coworkers. I started publishing it on my Twitter, which is public, for the world to see…including both my principal and my superintendent. Before I knew it, strangers were following me on this blog and liking different posts. It has been so fun checking my stats for the site or seeing a new “like” or follower. It has been so special having friends texting me and telling me how much they enjoyed the posts, which ones made them laugh, which ones spoke to their heart, which ones made them want to hug me, and which ones made them proud of me. I have loved hearing all of their kind, supportive words of praise and encouragement, and I have felt so loved every time someone has said to me, “Don’t stop writing.” While this started off as a challenge to myself, I have really come to enjoy the part of this journey that is you, my friends and the strangers, who have so faithfully read this blog from the start. I have to give a special shout-out to the husbands of my friends reading this for being handed the iPad across the bed and reading what might feel like girl stuff but hopefully has entertained you. You have some rockstar wives, you know that, right? I’m blessed they are my friends, and I’m blessed they are your wives. Yeah, I’m blessed by that, because I have some friends who are married to some awesome guys, and I am finally at a place in my life where I can look at those awesome friend/awesome husband duos and feel hope instead of envy. I mean that.

Since I don’t have any unmet online friends, I chose to write this about the people reading this blog, because you all have made this blog experience so real and special and important to me. I go back and forth about whether or not I will continue to blog after this. Part of me feels like I should continue, because my story won’t end with the last of 30 single girl posts. But part of me feels like I shouldn’t, because…I’m not sure why…something about these 30 posts (next one coming in a bit) feels almost sacred, and I worry if I keep going, I will ruin it. I don’t know. We’ll see. One thing I do know is this: This story would have been so incomplete with all of you following along with me. Some of you I will never meet. Some of you are people I know but haven’t admitted to me you have been reading this. Some of you have shared me with every laugh and tear you have experienced from this. On Day #24, when I blogged from the depths of my heart about losing my Papaw, I heard from more of you after that post than any other. It meant so much to me, because I honestly haven’t cried as hard as I did writing that one since the day we buried him. I really did hate knowing I made so many of you cry, but I felt so blessed to feel your love coming back to me. I get by with a little help from my friends, indeed.

              Xoxo,

                    Hayley and Riley (the best friend a girl could have)

“A friend loves at all times.” -Proverbs 17:17

Leave a Reply

